Friday, May 29, 2009

Vicary Maintains Lead In FIDE Thursdays

Elizabeth Vicary maintained a half-point lead in the Marshall's FIDE Thursdays tournament with a draw against NM Yefim Treger in the third round on May 28. Five players are tied for second with 2 points. The next round it Thursday June 4 at 7PM.

Click to show the crosstable

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Wednesday Under-2000 Begins

The Marshall Wednesday Night Under-2000 got under way on May 27th with 26 competitors. There was one big upset in the first round, as Hal Rives (1484) defeated Aigboje Aregbeyen (1817).

The second round is Wednesday June 3 at 7PM. You can join the tournament by registering before 6:45--entry is open to all players rated under 2000 or unrated.

Click to show the crosstable

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Marshall Book Fair on May 30

The Marshall Book Sale will be held on Saturday May 30th from 12 Noon to 6 PM. Come in and browse--it's open to the public and all proceeds go to teh Marshall Chess Foundation.

Celebrate With GM Robert Hess on Friday May 29.

Robert Hess gained his third and final Grandmaster norm at the recent Foxwoods tournament. In celebration, the Marshall Chess Club is proud to announce that on Friday, May 29 at 7 PM, GM-elect Robert Hess will give a lecture on one of his games from Foxwoods.

Refreshments will be served, and the lecture is open to the public.

Monday, May 25, 2009

Hamilton Wins Under-1600

The Marshall Monday Night Under-1600 was won by James Hamilton, who scored 4.5 points in 5 Rounds and won $195.00. There was a two way tie for second place and the Under-1300 Prize between Jim Papadopoulos and Lawrence Carlos, each of whom scored 4 points, winning $106.00. Four players tied for third: Guy Rawlins, John Hardin, Alex Genadinik, and Luis Fonseca all scored 3.5 points and each won $20.25. In all, 32 players participated.

Click to show the crosstable

Saturday, May 23, 2009

Friday Night Rapids

Seven players competed in the Friday rapids on May 22. NMs Yefim Treger and Leif Pressman tied for first.

Friday, May 22, 2009

Vicary Leads FIDE Thursdays

Elizabeth Vicary is the sole remaining perfect score in the Marshall FIDE Thursdays after the second round on May 21. NM Yefim Treger and George Berg are a half-point behind.

Click to show the crosstable

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Three Tie in Wednesday Under-2000

The Marshall Wednesday Night Under-2000 finished with a three way tie for first (plus the Under-1700 prize), between Michael Layevskiy, Serge Adelson and Michael Fiore, each scoring 4 points in 5 Rounds, and each winning $96.00. Third place was won by Peng Fei Kan, who scored 3.5 points and won $58.00. There were 23 players in the event.

Click to show the crosstable

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Five Tie in St. John's Masters

Five players shared first place with 3-1 scored in the May 19th St. John's Masters at the Marshall Chess Club. GM Leonid Yudasin, GM Alexander Stripunsky, IM Alex Lenderman, GM Michael Rohde, and IM Eli Vovsha collected $120 each for winning the event.

IM Jay Bonin and NM Adam Maltese split the Under-2400 prize ($50 each) with 2.5.

The crosstable can be found on the USCF website.

The next tournament is the third Tuesday of the month: June 16th at 7:00 pm. Top board games are broadcast live on ICC each round.

Entry is open to players rated over 2100. Players Under 2100 may qualify to register for the next St. John's Masters by scoring 2½ or more in any of the next four "4 Rated Games Tonight!" Thursday Night Action tournaments between May 21 and June 11th.

Monday, May 18, 2009

Stripunsky Wins GM Challenge

The Grandmaster Challenge, played at the Marshall Chess Club Club On May 17, as won by GM Alexander Stripunsky, who scored 5 points in 6 rounds, winning $325.

GMs Leonid Yudasin and Michael Rohde tied for second and third with 4.5 points, each winning $175. Fourth through sixth and the Under 2400 Prize were shared by GM Sergey Kudrin, IM Alex Lenderman, FM Asa Hoffmann, and NM Oliver Chernin, who scored 4 points, worth $81.25 each.

The Senior prize ($62) was won by FM Ilye Figler with 3.5 points. NM Yevgeniy Margulis and Michael Layevskiy shared the Under 2200/2000 Prize with 3 points each, winning $87.50 apiece. The prize for first Under 1800 was won by Maksim Shvartsovskiy, scoring 1 point, and winning $50.00. In all, 27 players entered the event, which was directed by Andre Harding.

The crosstable is available from the USCF website.

Sunday, May 17, 2009

Bonin Wins Saturday Game-60

IM Jay Bonin swept the Saturday Game/60 at the Marshall Chess Club on May 16, winning $130 with his 4-0 score.

NM Pieter Bierkens was second a half-point behind, and won $76. NM Siddharth Ravichandran and Levy Rozman shared the second prize money with 3-1, winning $27 each, while
Justus Williams, also with 3 points, collected the $65 under-2000 prize.

Myles Foster and Daniel Feng shared the Under-1800 prize ($32.50 each) with 2 points.

Click to show the crosstable

Saturday, May 16, 2009

Hoffman Wins Rapids

Four people played in the rapid tournament on Friday May 15. FM Asa Hoffmann won first place, earning $18. David Pecora won second place earning $12.

Monday, May 11, 2009

Bonin, Berg Win May Open

IM Jay Bonin and NM George Berg, each scored 3.5 points in 4 rounds to win the May Open at the Marshall Chess Club on May 9-10. Each earned $154.50 for teh vistory.

Third was shared by three players, NM James West, Michael Ellenbogen and Evan Rabin each scored 3 points, worth $27.00 apiece. The Under 2200 Class Prize was shared by Ed Scher and Serge Adelson, scoring 3 points and winning $53.00 each. The Under 1700 Class Prize was shared by 3 players also, David Peter Antonucci, Jr., Alexander Reis, and Alan Zhang. They each scored 2 points and won $30.00. In all, 39 players participated in the event.

Click to show the crosstable

Saturday, May 9, 2009

Hoffman, Pressman Win Rapids

FM Asa Hoffman and NM Leif Pressman tied for first in the Friday Night Rapids on May 8. WIM Irinya Zenyuk came in third in the 9-player field..

Friday, May 8, 2009

Treger Wins FIDE Thursdays

The Marshall FIDE Thursdys event was won by NM Yefim Treger, who scored 5.5 points in 6 Rounds and earned $88.00. Second place was won by Gerd Kathstede, scoring 4.5 points and winning $63.99. Third Place was won by Ed Frumkin with 4 points, winning $50.00. The Under 2000 Class Prize was won by Sandra Oliver, who scored 3 points and who won $50.00.

Click to show the crosstable

Thursday, May 7, 2009

Hilkevich Tops NY Experts

The NY Experts on May 6th was won by Zahar Hilkevich, who scored 3.5 points in 4 Rounds and earned $54.00. Michael Hehir and Justus Williams tied for second with 3 points, winning $29.50. The Under 1800 prize was won by Abraham Kunin who scored 2.5 points and won $23.00 There were 9 players in the tournament.

Click to show the crosstable