Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Sarkar and Lenderman Win St. John's Masters

IM Justin Sarkar and IM Alex Lenderman scored 3 1/2 out of 4 to win the October 21st St. John's Masters at the Marshall Chess Club. Each won $250.

A half-point behind GM Giorgi Kacheishvili and Yevgeni Margulis split third prize ($80 each). FM Asa Hoffman won the $30 Under-2400 prize with 2 1/2, and WIM Shernaz Kennedy won the $30 prize for biggest upset for her third-round victory over Michael Hehir (a 183-point upset).

Many thanks, as always, to our sponsor, St. John's University; our other individual patrons; the tournament organizer, Dr. Frank Brady; Tournament Director Steve Immitt; Assistant TDs Ed Frumkin and Glenn Statille; and to ICC for broadcasting the Board One games live each round!

The complete crosstable is available on the USCF website

Next month's St. John's Masters tournament is once again on the third Tuesday of the month of November: November 18th at 7:00 pm. Register before 6:45 pm. Games are once again slated for live broadcast on ICC each round.

The tournament is open to players rated over 2100. Players rated Under 2100 are also eligible to qualify to enter the November 18th St. John's Masters, by scoring 2.5 or more in any of the next four "4 Rated Games Tonight" Thursday Night Action tournaments through November 13th.

No comments: